Fabuwood and J&K Cabinetry both build all-wood cabinets with plywood boxes and dovetail drawers, so the real differences are in the door styles, the warranty, how the cabinets arrive and how far you can customize them. We put the two lines side by side using each company's own spec book and website.
We are an authorized Fabuwood dealer, and every Fabuwood cabinet is priced online. Shop Fabuwood cabinets to see every line and finish.
Quick Verdict
Fabuwood is our pick. It offers 12 door styles across framed and frameless lines where J&K offers framed cabinets only, a limited lifetime warranty against J&K's 5 years, cabinets that arrive fully assembled instead of ready-to-assemble, and a full modifications program. J&K is a good fit for contractors who want in-stock RTA cabinets picked up the same week from a local warehouse.
Fabuwood vs J&K at a Glance
| Feature | Fabuwood | J&K Cabinetry |
|---|---|---|
| Warranty | Limited lifetime for the original residential owner | 5 years, or while the original buyer owns the home, whichever is less. Hinges and drawer glides: 1 year |
| Door styles | 12 door styles in 5 lines, including the new Siena | S, B, E, D, H and K series plus traditional finishes, each door sold only in its own colors |
| Finishes | More than 250 door and color combinations on our site, plus 23 Siena finishes | 23 finishes on J&K's corporate site; 11 in the 2025 Florida spec book |
| Framed or frameless | Both: framed Allure, Quest and Value Premium; frameless Illume and Ovela | Framed only |
| How it arrives | Fully assembled | Ready-to-assemble (RTA) or ready-to-build |
| Cabinet box | 1/2" veneered plywood (Allure); plywood on Ovela, Quest and Value Premium | 1/2" to 5/8" plywood |
| Drawers | 5/8" solid wood, dovetail | 5/8" solid wood, dovetail |
| Drawer glides | Blum Tandem plus Blumotion, full extension, soft-close (Allure) | 3/4 to full extension, soft-close undermount (brand not stated) |
| Hinges | Blum soft-close (Allure) | 6-way adjustable soft-close Euro hinge (brand not stated) |
| Modifications | 19 pages in the Allure spec book: cut and pipe chase mods, returns, custom columns and doors, plus custom paint for a set-up fee | No modifications section in the 2025 spec book; doors and colors cannot be interchanged |
| Accessories | 17 pages of cabinet accessories, 17 pages of decorative parts, 5 range hood styles, Hafele LED lighting | Roll-out trays, glass rack, knee drawer, lazy Susan, spice and waste pull-outs, one wood range hood |
| Where to buy | Authorized dealers, including us online in 48 states | Authorized J&K wholesalers, 26 locations |
J&K facts come from jandkcabinetry.com, the J&K warranty page, J&K's FAQ and the J&K Cabinetry Florida 2025 spec book. Fabuwood facts come from Fabuwood's spec books and our live catalog.
Door Styles: J&K's Lineup vs Fabuwood's
This is the biggest difference between the two brands. J&K names each product with a code that pairs one door with one color, and its FAQ says doors and colors cannot be interchanged. If you like the S-series door, you choose from the S-series colors and nothing else.
J&K Cabinetry door series and finishes
J&K's corporate site lists 23 finishes in three groups. J&K notes that not every finish is stocked at every location.
| J&K series | Finishes (code and name) | Door construction per J&K |
|---|---|---|
| S-series (Contemporary) | S8 White, S5 Castle Grey, S2 Almond, S1 Java Coffee | All-wood reversed raised panel, shaker look |
| B-series (Transitional) | B5 Pure, B6 Pebble, B7 Naval, B8 Butterscotch | All-wood reversed raised panel; B7 and B8 are special order |
| E-series (Transitional) | E1 Dove, E2 Charcoal, E3 Sage | Plywood center panel |
| D-series (Transitional) | D1 Lunar, D2 Harvest | Not described |
| H and K series (Transitional) | H9 Pearl Glazed, H8 Hazel, H3 Chestnut, K3 Greige, K8 Espresso | Not described |
| Traditional | A7 Crème Glazed, CO66 Cinnamon Glazed, K10 Mocha Glazed, J5 Mahogany, M01 Chocolate Glazed | Not described; several are listed as discontinued or limited stock on jkcabinetry.com |
The J&K Cabinetry Florida 2025 spec book narrows that to 11 finishes: S8 White, S5 Castle Grey, M01 Chocolate Glazed, H9 Pearl Glazed, H3 Chestnut, K3 Greige, E1 Dove, E2 Charcoal, B6 Pebble, B7 Naval and B8 Butterscotch.
Fabuwood door styles
Fabuwood has 12 door styles across five lines, and most lines let you pick from dozens of colors on the same door. These are the counts on our site today.
| Fabuwood door | Line | Look | Colors |
|---|---|---|---|
| Galaxy | Allure (framed) | Classic shaker, 2-1/2" frame | 30 |
| Fusion | Allure (framed) | Shaker with a 3" frame | 18 |
| Nexus | Allure (framed) | Widest frame at 3-1/4" | 13 |
| Luna | Allure (framed) | Slim 3/4" frame with applied molding | 19 |
| Echo | Allure (framed) | Thinnest 5/16" mitered frame | 15 |
| Luxe | Allure (framed) | Flat slab | 15 |
| Catalina | Illume (frameless) | Slab in gloss, matte or textured | 44 |
| Tuscany | Illume (frameless) | 5-piece frame and panel | 22 |
| Ovela Catalina and Tuscany | Ovela (frameless, plywood box) | Catalina slab and Tuscany 5-piece | 78 |
| Siena (new) | Illume and Ovela (frameless) | Flat door with two-way wood grain | 23 |
| Discovery and Metro | Quest (framed) | 5-piece doors, traditional overlay | 4 |
| Hallmark | Value Premium (framed) | 5-piece door, modified full overlay | 1 |
The six Allure doors alone give 110 door and color combinations, and Fabuwood offers custom paint colors on Allure for a set-up fee. If you want a frameless European kitchen, a slab door or a wood-grain modern look, Fabuwood has a line for it. J&K's published lineup is framed cabinetry only.
Want to see the colors in person? Order door samples of the Fabuwood finishes you are considering, or start a free 3D kitchen design and our design team will lay out your kitchen in any Fabuwood door.
Warranty: Lifetime vs 5 Years
Fabuwood covers its cabinets with a limited lifetime warranty for the original residential owner, for as long as they own the home. It applies to Allure and Illume orders placed on or after January 26, 2023 and to Value Premium and Quest orders on or after October 1, 2024. Details are on our Fabuwood warranty page.
J&K's limited warranty runs 5 years from the original purchase, or as long as the original buyer owns the home, whichever is less. Door hinges and drawer glide systems are covered for 1 year. J&K also states that claims for cabinets bought from online retailers or unauthorized sellers may not be honored. Neither warranty transfers to a new owner.
Shop Fabuwood Cabinets
Compare all 12 Fabuwood door styles with live prices, or let our design team plan your kitchen in 3D first.
Shop Fabuwood Cabinets Free 3D DesignConstruction: Where They Match and Where They Differ
On the box and drawers the two brands are close. J&K's standard features list 1/2" to 5/8" cabinet-grade plywood boxes, 3/4" thick solid wood doors, 3/4" plywood shelves and 5/8" solid wood dovetail drawers. Fabuwood Allure uses a 1/2" veneered plywood box with the sides set into dovetail grooves in the face frame, 3/4" plywood shelves on metal clips and 5/8" solid wood dovetail drawers.
The hardware is where Fabuwood pulls ahead. Allure runs on Blum Tandem plus Blumotion full-extension soft-close runners and Blum soft-close hinges. J&K lists soft-close undermount glides that are 3/4 to full extension and a soft-close Euro hinge without naming a brand, and covers both for 1 year.
Then there is assembly. Every Fabuwood cabinet arrives fully assembled. J&K cabinets are sold ready-to-assemble or ready-to-build, so each box has to be put together before installation. For a full look at Fabuwood construction, read our Fabuwood quality review.
Customization and Accessories
J&K describes its cabinets as semi-customizable, but its 2025 spec book has no modifications section, and each door is locked to its own colors. Base and wall cabinets come in 3" steps from 9" to 42" wide.
Fabuwood's Allure spec book has 19 pages of modifications, including cut and pipe chase mods, returns, custom columns and custom doors. It adds 17 pages of cabinet accessories (trash pullouts, roll-outs, spice and utensil pullouts, lazy Susans, drawer inserts and vanity organizers) and 17 pages of decorative parts such as valances, pilasters, corbels, moldings and panels. It also offers five range hood styles (Euro, Farmhouse, Signature, Curved Artisan and Arched) and Hafele LED lighting. J&K's spec book shows one wood range hood.
Send us your layout and we will price the modifications and accessories with the rest of your order. Our Fabuwood Allure spec book guide shows where each section sits.
Lead Time and Where to Buy
J&K sells through authorized wholesalers, with 26 locations listed on its corporate site, and does not sell directly to homeowners. Its Georgia and Florida operations quote 1 to 2 day shipping to dealers in those states for in-stock items, which is a real advantage for a contractor who needs RTA cabinets this week.
Fabuwood is also sold through authorized dealers, and we ship it to 48 states. Most Fabuwood orders arrive in 2 to 4 weeks. Designer Collection finishes take 4 to 6 weeks, and the five Allure Galaxy Designer Stains take 6 to 8 weeks. Our prices are live on every product page, so you can price a whole kitchen online. See the Fabuwood price list for what each line costs.
Who Each Brand Suits
Choose Fabuwood if you want the most door styles and colors, a frameless option, cabinets that arrive assembled, a lifetime warranty and the freedom to modify sizes and add accessories. That covers most homeowners planning a kitchen they will live with for years, and it is the line we recommend.
J&K suits contractors and flippers who want a short list of in-stock framed RTA cabinets picked up from a local warehouse, and who are comfortable assembling the boxes and working within a 5-year warranty.
Frequently Asked Questions
What door styles does J&K Cabinetry offer?
J&K sells finishes by code, each tied to one door: the S-series (S8 White, S5 Castle Grey, S2 Almond, S1 Java Coffee), B-series (B5 Pure, B6 Pebble, B7 Naval, B8 Butterscotch), E-series (E1 Dove, E2 Charcoal, E3 Sage), D-series (D1 Lunar, D2 Harvest), H and K series (H9 Pearl Glazed, H8 Hazel, H3 Chestnut, K3 Greige, K8 Espresso) and traditional glazed and stained finishes (A7 Crème Glazed, CO66 Cinnamon Glazed, K10 Mocha Glazed, J5 Mahogany, M01 Chocolate Glazed). Availability varies by location.
Does J&K Cabinetry have a lifetime warranty?
No. J&K's limited warranty is 5 years, or as long as the original buyer owns the home if that is shorter, and hinges and drawer glides are covered for 1 year. Fabuwood offers a limited lifetime warranty for the original residential owner.
Are J&K cabinets assembled?
J&K cabinets are sold ready-to-assemble (RTA) or ready-to-build. Fabuwood cabinets ship fully assembled.
Is J&K Cabinetry good quality?
J&K builds all-wood cabinets with plywood boxes, 3/4" solid wood doors and dovetail drawers, which is solid construction for an RTA cabinet. Fabuwood matches that box and drawer construction and adds Blum hardware, factory assembly, more door styles, a frameless option and a lifetime warranty.
Can I mix J&K doors and colors?
No. J&K's FAQ states that doors and colors cannot be interchanged. On Fabuwood Allure, most colors are offered on several door styles, and custom paint is available for a set-up fee.
Does Direct Cabinet Deals sell J&K Cabinetry?
No. We are an authorized dealer for Fabuwood, Jarlin, Kitchen Cabinet Distributors (KCD), CNC Cabinetry and Eurocraft. J&K is sold through its own wholesalers.